

## June 11, 2020

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) ICD-10 Coordination & Maintenance Committee Classification & Public Health Data Standards National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Via email at: <u>nchsicd10CM@cdc.gov</u>

## RE: Support for Proposal for new ICD-10 CM codes: Lipedema & Lipolymphedema

## **Esteemed Committee members,**

The American Vein & Lymphatic Society is a professional association of approximately 2,300 members dedicated to evidence-based patient care and research in the domain of venous and lymphatic medicine. Every day, across the country, our members treat patients with venous and lymphatic diseases, ranging from superficial vein treatments to life-threatening deep venous conditions like venous thromboembolism, to chronic lymphatic and fat disorders.

We are pleased to offer our support for the proposal to establish new ICD-10 CM codes for the diagnosis of lipedema and lipolymphedema. These new codes are in need now by clinicians who treat these lipedema patients. If approved, these new codes will be a great aid in developing evidence-based protocols, registry data input, and facilitating accurate diagnostic and delivery of therapeutic services for these patients. Several of our AVLS members who are global clinical leaders in this domain have been directly involved in preparing and offering their comments on the submission.

Thank you very much for the opportunity to submit this letter of support. If you have immediate questions, please feel free to reach out to Dr. Stephen Daugherty, our AVLS Healthcare Policy Committee Chair, or Mr. Dean Bender, our AVLS Executive Director. Dr. Daugherty's email is <u>sdaugherty@clarksvillesurgical.com</u>, and Dean is at <u>dbender@myavls.org</u>. Dean's direct phone line is (704)-962-1023.

PRESIDENT Marlin W. Schul, MD, MBA, RVT, FAVLS

PAST PRESIDENT Neil Khilnani, MD, FAVLS, FSIR

CEO/EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Dean J Bender PRESIDENT-ELECT Mark Meissner, MD

DIRECTORS

Lisa Amatangelo, MD, RVT, RPVI, FAVLS Linda Antonucci, RPhS, RVT, RDCS John Blebea, MD, MBA, FACS Yung-Wei Chi, DO, FAHA, FSVM, FAVLS TREASURER Stephen Daugherty, MD, FACS, FAVLS, RVT, RPhS

Steven Dean, DO, FSVM, RPVI Steve Elias, MD, FACS, FAVLS Sergio Gianesini, MD, PhD, FACS Margaret Mann, MD, FAAD, FAVLS SECRETARY Kathleen Gibson, MD

Vineet Mishra, MD, FAAD, FAVLS Christopher Pittman, MD, FAVLS, FACR Satish Vayuvegula, MD, MS, FAVLS Ronald Winokur, MD, FSIR, RPVI



Respectfully submitted,

Marlin W. Schul, MD, MBA, RVT, FAVLS President

 CC: Dean Bender, Executive Director, AVLS Stephen F. Daugherty, MD, FACS, FAVLS, RVT, RPhS, AVLS Healthcare Policy Committee Chair
Mark H. Meissner, MD, FAVLS, AVLS President-elect
Robert J. White, AVLS, Director of Healthcare Policy & Advocacy
Karen L. Herbst, PhD, MD
Steven Dean, MD
Thomas C. Wright, MD
Nadiv Shapira, MD
Jeffrey Restuccio, CPC, COC, Ritecode.com